Anderson School District Four Home Page
« January 2015 »
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat



The AdvancED External Review Team
for our District


External Review Team's
Exit Report

Pendleton's 225th Anniversary Committee Upcoming Events

Saturday, February 7
3:00 PM
An African American Heritage Program

Click for more information
Our District News
Join Us at the Dedication
The signature Red Oak is back!  At the corner of East Queen and Highway 88 the long standing Red Oak that marked the landscape of Pendleton for over 150 years is back and looking younger than ever.  Join us for the community wide Red Oak Tree Dedication on February 12th.  As part of Pendleton’s 225 Anniversary celebrations, our District would like to dedicate this young Red Oak replacement.  The dedication will begin with coffee and water at the District Four Central Office on Thursday, February 12th at 1:30 p.m. with the dedication beginning at 2:00 p.m.
1:World Mobile Learning Device Initiative
1: World is Anderson 4’s mobile learning initiative that will equip every student in grades 3-12 with a Chromebook for instructional use by August 2016. In anticipation of the 1:World roll out, Anderson 4’s Technology and Instructional Services Team would like to join parents in preparing our students for this exciting technology integration. Parent meetings have been set up at all of the schools. Parents are welcome to attend whichever meeting location and time is most convenient with their schedule. We look forward to sharing both important details and available resources as the roll out begins in 2015.  Parent Protection Plan Agreement Form for Take-Home Devices, 1:World Mobile Learning Guide for Take-Home Devices, Free Local WiFi Access Locations and 1:World Information Card.

Dr. D'Andrea Transitions to Retirement

The Board of Trustees accepted Superintendent Dr. Lee D'Andrea's request to transition to retirement at their meeting on Monday, December 8.

Dr. Avery Named Superintendent-elect

The Board announced the appointment of Dr. Joanne Avery, current Deputy Superintendent, as Superintendent-elect until July 1, 2015, at which time, she will become superintendent.

Dr. Avery and Dr. D'Andrea will work together between now and September 2015 to ensure a smooth transition. Read the complete Press Release

Students Compete in Archery Competition
On  February 18, at the Anderson Sports and Entertainment Center, the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources will be holding the South Carolina Archery in the Schools Region 1 tournament as part of the National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP). The tournament will be hosted by Anderson School  District Four archery teams including La France Elementary, Mount Lebanon Elementary, Pendleton Elementary, Townville Elementary and Riverside Middle Schools. Our schools will be competing against 20  other teams from all across the upstate of South Carolina. Over the next couple of months, regional tournaments will be held in Myrtle Beach, Prosperity, Lugoff and Anderson and will serve as qualifying tournaments for the South Carolina Archery in the Schools state tournament in March being held in Sumter. The South Carolina Archery in the Schools Region 1 tournament is open to the public and a small admission will be taken at the gate. Visit or for more information on the National Archery in the Schools Program and these tournaments.
Students Participate in Anderson All County Band Clinic
Seventeen of Riverside's and La France's finest participated in the first ever Anderson All County Band Clinic this past weekend, January 16-17, 2015.  Students in the Junior Anderson All County Honor Band met each other for the first time Friday morning, and had only 6 1/2 hours to prepare for their outstanding concert on Saturday afternoon in the beautiful Henderson Auditorium on the campus of Anderson University.  Their clinician for the weekend was one of SC's finest music educators, Mr. Jim Kilgus, band director at Mauldin Middle School.  Congratulations: Emma Buchanan, Madison Burns, Elaina Bell, Olivia Ladines, Haleigh Williams, Ali Johnson, Elizabeth Kim, Brady Martin, Bradlee Hanks, Jacob Hayes, Garrett Thrasher, Avery Herren, Marshall Gilmer (LES), Isaac Strange, Will Redding, Seth Gurley, and Tyler Frank!
PES Students Win Poetry Contest
Students from 5th grade at Pendleton Elementary School entered into an online poetry writing contest through Creative Communication.  Students were to write a poem, no more than 21 lines, on a topic of their choice.  Three students from PES were chosen as contest winners to the poetry contest!  Kaytie Cobb, Rhecia Majors, and Abigail Privette had their poems chosen to be published in a book with the other winners.  These girls competed with K-12 students in the United States and Canada.  Congratulations to these 5th grade writers!
January is School Board Recognition Month
The month of January marks the annual observance of School Board Recognition Month—a time to salute the work of school board members and celebrate public education.   The theme - School Boards Stand Up 4 SC Public Schools – reinforces the unique role school boards play in promoting and advocating for quality education and the ownership they take for governing their local public schools.  As the elected/appointed representatives of the people in their local communities, they represent their local communities’ voice and vision for their public schools..  In Anderson School District Four, our school board members develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $24 million, 2980 students, 390 employees, and seven buildings. Thank you board members!

In support of this year's theme, the SCSBA in partnership with the National School Boards Association is working to make sure that voices for public education are heard loud and clear at the Statehouse and in communities throughout the state. To that end, they have launched a website, which features a video promoting public education, a blog for school districts to share good news stories, as well as an interactive "Share Your Story for visitors can describe how public education has made a positive difference in their lives.  Check it out!
Anderson 4 Awarded District Accreditation
Anderson School District Four has been recommended for re-accreditation through AdvancED Accreditation Commission for a five-year term that expires June 30, 2019.  The announcement was made at a called board meeting on November 19, 2014, during which time the AdvancED External Review Team also provided the board with an Exit Report. The agency also recommended that Mount Lebanon Elementary School be accredited as a Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) school making them the first school in the South Carolina to earn this distinction.  Read more...   External Review Team Exit Report  School Signature Experiences Video

Site Map | Privacy Policy | View "printer-friendly" page | Login   
Site powered by © 2015 - Educational website content management